Uninspired and Uninspiring

This is what I feel like doing today. Just another grind. Lord help me through this tough spot…

I haven’t felt particularly inspired to exercise the last three days. I think I got a hefty dose of culture shock when I went shopping on Sunday and the after effects are still lingering. This has been compounded by some passive-aggresive tactics that my principal has been employing on the staff these days. It appears as if the fall out is going to spill over onto the children. All the more reason to make my plans to get out of Dodge.

I’ve got seven boys in my class this year. Five of which can barley understand English. There has been some complaining as to the amount of words to an answer to one question on a worksheet I created. My response, “Get over it. You’re in 5th grade now.” By the end of the year, not only will they be able to read, and write in English, they will be able to put together coherent sentences using information and details provided in the text. Even my worst students from last year can do that (with the exception of the autistic boy – who understands the concept and can do the work, but occasionally needs a lot of translation and extra time to get on track.)

Instead of typing I should be doing T-Tapp. You know what I told myself as I was trying to work up the gumption to get out of bed? I told myself that I can do it later. Later? Hmmm…am I telling myself lies now?

They are building something next door to the campus. That rhythmic pounding is getting on my nerves. Usually that sort of thing doesn’t bother me, but it is this morning. That’s a red flag. Glad I caught it.

Leave a comment